Economic Development District & CEDS

The Triangle J Council of Governments Economic Development District (EDD) received federal designation from the U.S. Economic Development Administration (U.S. EDA) on February 8, 2018. The EDD’s geographic boundary includes Chatham, Durham, Johnston, Lee, Moore, Orange, and Wake Counties.  The U.S. EDA provides funding for projects that meet the economic development needs of distressed communities, and Triangle J serves as the liaison between the U.S. EDA and eligible applicants in the EDD.   


Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS) 

The Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS) is a regional strategy to coordinateA economic development efforts across the seven-county Triangle J region. A CEDS document is required by the U.S. Economic Development Administration to maintain EDD status and must be updated at least once every five years to qualify for EDA assistance.  By coordinating and prioritizing goals and objectives, the CEDS helps regional stakeholders take a more targeted approach to economic development by creating partnerships and leveraging local, state, regional, and federal resources.  


CEDS Goals:  

Build on the Region's Competitive Advantage and Leverage the Marketplace  

Establish and Maintain a Robust Regional Infrastructure  

Create Revitalized and Vibrant Communities  

Develop Healthy and Innovative People   


Click here to review the 2013-2017 Triangle J CEDS with the 2018 Interim Update


The Executive Summary provides an overview and key strategies in an eight-page format. Access it here: Executive Summary - Region J CEDS


You may also review selected portions of the CEDS, organized by topic of interest. Find them here:

  1. Market Development
  2. Workforce Development & Education
  3. Planning & Infrastructure
  4. Health & Active Living