Safe Routes to School

Through the North Carolina Safe Routes to School program, partners are working to make walking and biking to school safe and accessible options for all children. Triangle J Council of Governments' Safe Routes to School aims to serve all seven counties within the TJCOG region. 

The purpose of the program is to: 

  • Enable and encourage children, including those with disabilities, to walk and bicycle to school
  • Make walking and bicycling to school safer and more appealing transportation alternatives to 
  • Encourage a healthy and active lifestyle from an early age
  • Facilitate the planning, development, and implementation of projects and activities that will improve safety and reduce fuel consumption, traffic, and air pollution near school sites

This program is in partnership with the NC Department of Transportation's Non-Infrastructure Transportation Alternatives Program and NC Safe Routes to School.



Shuchi Gupta

Program Coordinator, Energy and Environment

For more information about Safe Routes to School and program activities, please visit NC Vision Zero's SRTS page.