Board Elects New Officers for 2020-2021 Fiscal Year

At their May Board Meeting, the TJCOG Board of Delegates unanimously elected new officers for the upcoming 2020-2021 Fiscal Year, which will begin on July 1, 2020. The TJCOG Officers work directly with staff to guide organizational decisions and oversee the implementation of actions made by the full Board of Delegates. Congrats to the TJCOG Delegates elected to serve as the following officer positions:
Chair: Don Rains, Town of Princeton
1st Vice-Chair: Kathleen Ferguson, Town of Hillsborough
2nd Vice-Chair: Mark Wilson, Town of Archer Lodge
Secretary/Treasurer: DeDreana Freeman, City of Durham
Chair-elect Don Rains, who currently serves as the TJCOG representative on the NC Association of Councils of Government advocacy and advisory board, remarked "Triangle J Council of Governments is a great organization that assists local governments in our region. With the difficult times we are facing with COVID-19 and budget shortfalls on the state and local level, it is even more important to plan regionally for today and tomorrow. Funding and planning for expanding broadband for teleworking and students is essential as more and more families need to work from home; this will be my top priority as Chairman. TJCOG is also vital to support aging needs and plan for water systems and transportation impacted by growth.  Tomorrow starts today and it is my hope we can make a difference." 
TJCOG thanks 2019-2020 Chair Jim Crawford of Chatham County, for his dedication to regional government, displayed through continued support of the organization, its work, and the 2019 Regional Summit, and his increased engagement of elected officials and staff.