TJCOG Status and COVID-19 Response Efforts

Triangle J Council of Governments is committed to assisting local governments working diligently on the frontlines and finding opportunities for partnership, idea-sharing, and resourcefulness In response to COVID-19 challenges. While offices remain closed to the public in accordance with state and local Stay-at-Home guidance, staff are teleworking to continue the mission of the organization and assist local governments across our region through December 31, 2020. Many programs and projects continue with business as usual, shifting to virtual meetings and online collaboration to meet timelines and achieve intended results.

In response, staff has developed resource guides and a policy tracker for local government managers and staff to assist with policy decisions and reduce duplication; convened HR Directors, Managers, and Strategy/Innovation Leaders to discuss and collaborate; tracked regulation and COVID-19 resource changes from the federal and state governments; assisted with grant applications; and continued to serve as a steady source of information and coordination between members and public, private, and non-profit partners.

General service requests can be made by email to tjcog@tjcog.org. Member government staff are also strongly encouraged to reach out directly to their community’s respective liaison with any questions, support needs, or concerns.

  • Alana Keegan, akeegan@tjcog.org – Chatham and Wake counties (and all municipalities)
  • Jenny Halsey, jhalsey@tjcog.org – Moore and Orange counties (and all municipalities)
  • Renee Boyette, rboyette@tjcog.org - Durham, Lee and Johnston counties (and all municipalities)

A resource guide with links to county and regional partner COVID-19 information hubs will be regularly updated and can be found on the TJCOG website here.

Triangle J Area Agency on Aging

The Area Agency on Aging continues to provide guidance and technical assistance to local providers on service modifications and funding administration, support to partners as they work to reach aging adults, distribute County-specific COVID-19 information and resources, and collaborate with partners to ensure resources and services remain uninterrupted during this time. One of the key focus areas during this time is maintaining critical access to meals and food.  Congregate and home-delivered meals are operational on a modified schedule in each county.  Any adult age 60 and over with a need can access meals by contacting their local aging services provider or by contacting the AAA tollfree number at 800-310-9777 or by email at aging@tjcog.org.

The Area Agency on Aging does not serve as a regulatory agency nor provide guidance or information about long-term care (LTC) facilities or facility operations. Questions related to facility requirements or operations information should be directed to the NC Department of Health and Human Services. Questions on COVID-19 case-related information in LTC facilities should be directed to the respective County’s Public Health Department.

The Area Agency on Aging’s Long-Term Care Ombudsmen continue to work to protect and address residents’ rights in long-term care facilities during this time, however, staff are not permitted to make facility visits at this time, unless otherwise directed to do so by the state’s LTC Ombudsman. Individuals with questions about residents’ rights or registering complaints about facilities can reach out directly to the Ombudsman assigned to the facility’s respective county.  Please leave a voice message and the Ombudsman will return your call as soon as possible.

  • Autumn Cox, acox@tjcog.org, 919.558.9401 - Chatham and Orange County Nursing and Adult Care Homes, Lee County Adult Care Homes
  • Aimee Kepler, akepler@tjcog.org, 919-558-2719 - Wake County Adult Care Homes
  • Jennifer Link, jlink@tjcog.org, 919-558-9404 - Wake and Lee County Nursing Homes
  • Pam Palmer, ppalmer@tjcog.org, 919.558.2714 - Durham County Nursing and Adult Care Homes
  • Carolyn Pennington, cpennington@tjcog.org, 919.558.2703 - Johnston and Moore County Nursing and Adult Care Homes